+

如果您有任何问题想要询问我的旅行或需要更多信息,我总是乐于听取您的意见。您可以通过电子邮件或电话与我联系。

我期待着您的回音!
(请注意:我经常不在这里,最好是使用电子邮件联系)。

Email:
电话: 01503 240170
(国际 +44 1503 240170)

台湾观鸟类和植物学远征探险2019

台湾是亚洲特有鸟类和植物最集中的地区之一。这主要是观鸟之旅,除此之外,我将向您展示台湾最稀有的植物在其自然栖息地。我已经研究台湾的植物已有20多年了,很难去那里而不去谈论它们!

请注意:这是对台湾的远征,因此涉及在荒野地点的吊床上睡五个穿插的夜晚,还有一些(可选的)艰难的徒步旅行。(如果您不想在吊床上睡觉,请参阅我的其他台湾之旅)。

Nature Expeditions是台湾唯一一家在荒野中过夜睡觉的旅行社。酒店的夜晚较少意味着这也比其他台湾旅游费用低得多。还要注意只有6人的小团体!

价钱: £2,720.00 (GBP) 每人
单人补充是: £250
目前的汇率指南:
£2,720 GBP = $3,482 USD 或 €3,028 EUR

  • 13天12夜(在吊床上睡5个晚上)。

2019年04月26日 - 2019年05月08日
(剩下5个地方)

台湾岛上的人口居住在西部三分之一的岛屿上。岛上剩下的三分之二包含了相当多的荒野。海拔3000多米的山峰有286座。山脉很高,因为像喜马拉雅山一样,它们很年轻。 由于Manilla-plate坠入中国的大陆边缘,山脉是从海床上升起而形成的。

山上有一些非常壮观的动物,如亚洲黑熊,中国穿山甲,巨型飞鼠,蒙面棕榈果子狸,豹猫和可能灭绝的台湾云豹。但由于地形,哺乳动物很难在野外看到。但是,由于地理隔离台湾有高度集中的特有鸟类。 还有许多迁徙鸟类。此外,鸟类很容易看到。

台湾也非常适合植物学家,每年都会发现新的植物种类。我一直在研究台湾植物超过20年。 例如,台湾有超过600种蕨类植物,这比其他任何地方都要多。强调这次巡演的重点是鸟类和植物学。

在探险期间,我们将集中在台湾的中央山脉,兰屿岛和西南海岸的湿地。为了让探险更轻松,我们将在吊床上睡一晚,第二晚在酒店住宿,这意味着你可以留在荒野中充分利用傍晚和清晨观看大多数人从未见过的野生动物,但第二天晚上在一个舒适的酒店,你可以淋浴和梳洗。

行程

请注意:行程仅供参考。 计划可能因天气和野生动物状况而异。 灵活性对于高海拔探险至关重要。

第一天


到达台北 - 台北国际到达桃园机场,距离我们在台北市的酒店43公里。有定期巴士到台北。我强烈建议您提前一天到达,以克服您可能遇到的任何时差,但如果您当天抵达,如果您在当地时间13:30之前抵达机场,我可以在经过时从机场接您。旅行的开始时间是15:30,在酒店的大厅开会,我们会进行简短的介绍,然后直接去寻找鸟类。我们将走出一些城市公园,看看: Malayan Night Heron 和 Black-crowned Night Heron, Taiwan Barbet, Taiwan Scomitar-Babbler, Chinese Bulbul, Japanese White-eye 和 Grey Treepie 我们将在黄昏前完成所有这些工作,届时我们将返回酒店共进晚餐。

住宿:舒适的城市酒店,含早餐。

第二天


沿海岬角和野柳地質公園,然后到宜兰看稻田和低地森林 - 对于那些想要在清晨再次步行前往台北公园的人来说,我们有机会在离开去海岸寻找候鸟之前。在野柳地質公園,我们将走向没有观光者的海角。在这里我们可以找到: Brown Shrike, Plain Prinia, Blue Rock Thrush, Taiwan Scimitar Babbler 和 Pacific Reef Egret。头顶上偶尔有猎鹰和鹰。眺望大海,我们有机会从岬角看到鲸鱼和海豚。台湾水域有20种鲸鱼和11种海豚,虽然只有少数可以从大陆看到,而我通常看到的唯一一个是 Risso's dolphin。然后我们沿着东南沿海开车到宜兰,在那里我们可以停下来观察稻田里的鸟类,然后在低地森林的吊床上做野营。 这是一个很好的观看地点: Taiwan serow, Taiwan Blue Magpie 和新发现的宜兰芭蕉。

住宿:1晚在森林里的吊床上睡觉。

第三天和第四天


山上开车,然后在大雪山两晚 - 我们将醒来到黎明合唱团,我们周围都是低地鸟类,也许会看到穿过森林的台灣長鬃山羊。我们有相当长的一天的车开着。不是因为它很长,而是因为山上的道路缓慢而曲折。早餐后,我们有时间散步,然后出发。最初的74公里可以在2小时14分钟内行驶,但由于经常停下来看我们能看到的东西,我们需要更长的时间。下一部分是沿着高速公路行驶2小时。我们将停止前往购买啤酒,因为我们住的地方没有酒吧许可证。然后最后一个车程是36.3公里,(1小时15分钟)(我们2小时),一个曲折的上升回到山上,到达大雪山的森林游憩区,海拔2,250米。我们将在途中停在23公里处,这是一个值得一看的好地方: Swinhoe's Pheasant 和 Taiwan Hill Partridge。然后在47公里再次停车,这是一个很好看的地方: Mikado pheasant。我们在这里待了2晚,这将大大增加我们看到你来台湾看到的大部分鸟类的机会。鸟类清单应该是这样的: Mikado Pheasant 和 Swinhoe’s Pheasant, Taiwan Partridge, Taiwan Bamboo Partridge, Collared Bush Robin, Sombre Bush Robin, Flamecrest, White-eared Sibia, Taiwan Barwing, Yellow Tit, Taiwan Rosefinch 和 Taiwan Bullfinch. 在森林覆盖的山麓,我们应该看到: Black-necklaced 和 Taiwan Scimitar Babblers。

住宿:在森林小屋住宿2晚。

第五天


山上开车,然后在荒野中过夜 - 跨越台湾中心的主要跨岛公路(8号公路)因地震破坏而永久关闭,这意味着我们可以通过南投绕道而行。所以我们今天早上有一个选择 - 在大雪山停留一两个小时,看看我们可能错过的任何东西或者参观台湾中部的日月潭,或两者都可以!然后我们将在距离东亚最高路3275米的合欢山口开车经过台湾的中央山脉。

目的是在山口另一侧的下降期间在森林中的高海拔吊床上睡一晚然后明天开车到东海岸。

住宿:1晚在森林里的吊床上睡觉。

第六天


一个缓慢的山地下降和沿海驾驶的一天 - 今天,在山上一个寒冷的夜晚,我们将开车到东海岸,穿过太鲁阁峡谷令人敬畏的大理石悬崖景观,一直到炎热潮湿的沿海低地,我们将在那里寻找: Styan’s Bulbul, Black-necklaced 和 Taiwan Scimitar Babblers, Taiwan Hwamei 和 Red Oriole。我们可能有时间徒步去看稀有的史前苏铁树( Cycas taitungensis )。

住宿:舒适的城市酒店,含早餐。

第七天


搭乘渡轮前往兰屿岛一晚 - 我们的下一个目的地将与我们目前所看到的形成鲜明对比,兰屿岛的动植物群是菲律宾的动植物群,气候属于热带气候,岛上的设施不是很发达。兰屿有一系列特殊鸟类,包括: Lanyu Scops Owl, Taiwan Green Pigeon, Philippine Cuckoo-dove, Japanese Paradise-flycatcher, Brown-eared Bulbul 和 Lowland White-eye。这个46平方公里的岛屿位于台湾南端以东65公里处在菲律宾巴坦群岛以北约110公里处。要到达那里需要乘船3小时,这将使我们有机会看到驼背鲸,海豚和: Wedge-tailed Shearwaters 和 Bonin Petrel, Bulwer's Petrel 和 Swinhoe's Storm-petrel。

您现在可以选择做什么。大多数其他观鸟游览兰屿岛都靠近岛屿周围的道路。你可以看到那条路上的所有鸟类。我过去10年来的大多数植物学工作都在岛上陡峭的森林内部,你现在有机会和我一起徒步进入雨林,然后在吊床上睡一晚,或留在宾馆。我会故意选择距离Jung-Ai桥不到2公里的宾馆,然后你可以在那里步行去看猫头鹰。该团体可以分为那些想要在丛林中徒步旅行的人和那些不想要的人。

岛上的主要交通工具是小型摩托车,如果你能骑上其中一个(他们并不困难),那么带上国际驾驶执照。如果我们中的一些人可以骑行,它可以节省很多行走,并将其他人当作后座乘客。就像我说的,徒步进入丛林是陡峭和不舒服,我觉得任何人都可以这样做,如果他们愿意推动自己一点点。我有两种选择可以带你进入丛林 - 更容易的路线是天池塘,海拔约300米,更难的目的地是洪头山海拔552米(兰屿岛最高海拔),在那里,我可以向你展示兰花和极度濒危的 Pinanga tashiroi 棕榈树,它是兰屿特有的,仅限于高海拔地区。

请注意,恶劣天气可能导致兰屿旅游取消。

住宿:1晚在吊床上睡觉,或在基本宾馆住宿1晚。

第八天和第九天


返回大陆,然后向南 - 回到台湾后我们将前往台湾南部的垦丁,在那里我们可以从我们的热带岛屿游览中恢复过来。

垦丁是一个受欢迎的台湾度假胜地。您可以在晚上沿着夜市漫步。我们将住在的地方是山顶,在林业研究站的植物园。一个有趣的地方走动。在遥远的南方或台湾,我们将访问南方最有可能看到一些移民鸟的地方,也去垦丁国家公园的龙峦潭湖,我们可以看到: Ruddy-breasted Crake, White-breasted Waterhen 和 Black-faced Spoonbills。

住宿:在植物学研究站的舒适客房住宿2晚

第十天


回到山上,干涸的南部山脉 - 很少有人去过我今天想带你去的地方,这里的云雾林是台湾唯一可以找到稀有树蕨Cyatha loheri的地方。为了到达那里(如果道路开放),我们将穿过南部的干燥森林,沿途欣赏壮观的景色。

住宿:1晚在森林里的吊床上睡觉。

第十一天


到台南附近的曾文河口 - 在台南或芝区,我们可能会发现一些挥之不去的黑脸琵鹭。滨鸟是台湾这一地区的另一大景点,我们可能会看到: Great Knot, Long-toed Stint, Broad-billed 和 Sharp-tailed Sandpipers, Grey-tailed Tattler 甚至是罕见的 Asian Dowitcher, Far Eastern Curlew 和 Little Curlew。更广泛的物种可能包括: Black-winged Stilt, Oriental Pratincole, Kentish, Little Ringed, Mongolian, Greater Sand, Pacific Golden 和 Grey Plovers, Red-necked Stint, Dunlin, Eastern Black-tailed Godwit, Eurasian Whimbrel, Common Redshank, Common Greenshank, Marsh, Wood, Terek 和 Common Sandpipers, Ruddy Turnstone 和 Red-necked Phalarope。

住宿:舒适的城市酒店,含早餐。

第十二天


参观游览最高海拔的玉山国家公园 - 我们现在前往玉山国家公园的塔塔卡休闲区,寻找额外的高山鸟类。从这里我们可以看到玉山,其海拔3952米,是东亚最高的山峰。要寻找的鸟类包括: Taiwan Bush-warbler 以及 Yellowish-bellied 和 Brownish-flanked Bush-warblers, Golden Parrotbill, Eurasian Nutcracker, 害羞 Taiwan Cupwing, Collared Bush-robin, White-browed Bush-robin, 特有的亚种 Island Thrush, 和 White-browed Shortwing。

住宿:舒适的城市酒店,含早餐。

第十三天


巡演的最后一天。 我们离开之前有什么可以做的吗 - 到了上午晚些时候,我们将不得不离开高山,返回低地寻找Fary Pitta,然后开车回北方。取决于人们的航班时间。今天我们回到台北,途中经过桃园机场。有些人可能想在此时离开。否则我可能会建议我们绕道去乌来,这是个好看的地方: Taiwan Blue Magpie, Taiwan Whistling Thrush, Plumbeous Redstart, Rufous-capped Babbler 和 Brown Dipper。返回台北后,巡演终于结束了。那些在台北逗留的人现在离开了。如果有人需要去机场,我可以带他们,因为我会经过。

其他信息

  • 吊床有多舒适?

    我可以告诉你,他们比你想象的要舒服得多。我发现它们比我的床更舒服,大多数人都同意。唯一令人恼火的事情是热带的夜晚很热,但在半夜变冷。你需要一个3季睡袋或被子(未提供)。如果你带一个睡袋,那么你需要松开拉链,因为当你在吊床内时很难进入睡袋,羽绒被子最好用。吊床配有内置蚊帐,并设有独立防雨罩。吊床还有一个足部,以获得最佳的舒适度,甚至还有一个架子来存放你的衣服和小工具。您几乎可以在任何位置舒适地睡觉,甚至蜷缩或躺在您的前面。你不能堕落。它们易于安装和拆卸,重量轻。我相信你会发现它们比你想象的更舒服。

  • 我应该带什么相机设备?

    如果你有一个非常长的镜头(500-800毫米),因为在南方的湿地非常有用。长镜头,可手持,如400毫米。广角变焦镜头(24-70 mm)和更长的变焦(70-200 mm)。猫头鹰的闪光枪。不要带太多,空间不大。 您根本不需要携带任何相机设备。

  • 食物怎么样?

    我们将在路边的餐馆吃中国传统食物,素食餐馆很常见,我们可以选择我们想吃的地方。

  • 什么是“合适的衣服”?

    确保您携带高品质的鞋子。我使用步行靴进行驾驶和步行,有时则使用凉鞋。白天气温可高达35摄氏度,但台湾是一个热带岛屿,湿度可达90%,非常不舒服。山上的夜晚可能很冷,你应该在需要时带上一些保暖的衣服。在山上经常下雨,雨也可能是暴雨。快干的轻便衣服是最合适的。一把伞会很有用。露营时你需要更换衣服,你会在雨林里弄湿,晚上在吊床上睡觉时穿新衣服真好。

价钱: £2,720.00 (GBP) 每人
单人补充是: £250
目前的汇率指南:
£2,720 GBP = $3,482 USD 或 €3,028 EUR

2019年04月26日 - 2019年05月08日
(剩下5个地方)

  • 持续时间
    • 13天12夜(在吊床上睡5个晚上)。
  • 位置
    • 游遍台湾和兰屿岛。
  • 宿舍
    • 大多数(7)舒适的住宿和(5)在荒野中的吊床上穿插的夜晚。
  • 包括
    • 酒店住宿包括早餐。
    • 所有主餐。
    • 包括所有汽车和渡轮运输。
    • 使用防虫吊床帐篷。
    • 入场费和通行费。
    • 小费。
  • 排除
    • 国际航班。
    • 您之前和之后的旅游安排。
    • 使用睡袋或被子睡在吊床上。
    • 个人性质的物品,如洗衣费。
    • 旅游保险(必须的)。
  • 最大人数
    • 6个人
  • 要求的健身水平
    • 中等。 大部分都很容易走路。 1或2个可选的陡峭徒步旅行。
  •  
  • KAYAK Search flights
  •  
  • 旅游保险(这是强制性的)
    • Campbell Irvine Direct 如果您居住在英国或任何欧洲经济共同体国家,他们可以以低成本为您提供充足的保险。
    • World Nomads 如果您居住在世界上140个国家中的一个国家,他们可以为您提供各种冒险运动和活动的保险。
  •  
  • 台湾最好买的书:
    Birds of East Asia
    Lonely Planet Taiwan Travel Guide
    Taiwan books at the Book Depository

+

If you have any questions about my tours or require further information, I am always happy to hear from you. Feel free to contact me by email or phone.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Trebrown Farm, Horningtops, Liskeard, Cornwall PL14 3PU. UK.

Email:
Telephone: 01503 240170
(International +44 1503 240170)

Taiwan - Birds and Botany Expedition 2019

Taiwan has one of the highest concentrations of endemic birds and plants in Asia. This is first and foremost a birding tour with the added interest of also plant hunting for many of Taiwan's rarest plants in natural habitats. I've been studying Taiwan plants for over 20 years I can't not talk about them!

PLEASE NOTE: This is an Expedition to Taiwan and therefore involves sleeping five interspersed nights in hammocks in wilderness locations and also some (optional) slightly more difficult hiking. (Please see my other Taiwan Tour if you'd rather not sleep in hammocks).

Nature Expeditions is the only tour operator in Taiwan offering overnights in the wilderness. Fewer nights in hotels means this is also much less costly than other Taiwan tours. Also note the tiny group-size of only 6 people!

Price: £2,720.00 (GBP) per. person
Single supplement: £250
Current Exchange rate guide:
£2,720 GBP = $3,513 USD or €2,420 EUR

Fri 26 Apr 2019 - Wed 08 May 2019 (5 places left)

  • 13 days, 12 nights (5 in hammocks).

Taiwan lies 180 km off the southeastern coast of mainland China, a tobacco-leaf-shaped island approximately 400 km long by 120 km wide lying right on the Tropic of Cancer. The human population lives in only ⅓ of the western side of the island. The remaining ⅔ contains rather a lot of wilderness. The island has the largest number and density of high mountains in the world. There are 286 mountain summits over 3,000 metres (9,800 ft) above sea level. The mountains are this tall because, like the Himalayas they are very young and formed by being thrust-up from the sea-bed due to the Manilla plate crashing into China’s continental margin.

The mountains are home to some quite spectacular animals like the Asiatic black bear, Chinese pangolin, Red and white giant flying squirrel, Yellow-throated marten, Masked palm civet, Leopard cat and the now thought to be extinct Formosan clouded leopard. But due to the terrain, mammals other than the Formosan rock macaque, Reeves's muntjac and the odd Taiwan serow are difficult to see in the wild. However, due to the young age of these mountains and their geographical isolation Taiwan boasts one of the highest concentrations of endemic birds in Asia and with many migrants passing through. Furthermore the birds are easy to see.

Taiwan is also a wonderland for botanists with new species being found every year. It’s difficult to know where to start with regards to the diverse plants of Taiwan, I’ve been studying them for over 20 years, but to use ferns for example Taiwan, with over 600 species of fern has more than any other place on the planet. Emphasising the reason this tour is focused on both birds and plant hunting.

During the expedition we shall concentrate on the central mountain massif of Taiwan, Lanyu Island and the wetlands of the southwest coast. To make the expedition easier we will try to spend, where possible alternate days in hammocks and hotels, which means you get to stay out in the wilderness to take full advantage of the evening and early morning for watching wildlife that most people never get to see, but the following night is in a comfortable hotel where you can freshen up.

Itinerary

PLEASE NOTE: Itineraries are for guidance only. Programmes may vary depending on weather and wildlife conditions. Flexibility is paramount for high elevation expeditions.

Day 1


Arrive Taipei - International arrivals in Taipei land in Taoyuan airport which is 43 km from our hotel in Taipei City. There are regular buses to Taipei. I highly recommend arriving a day or so early to overcome any jet-lag you may have, but if you arrive on the day and if you arrive in the airport before 13:30 local time I can collect you from the airport as I pass through. The start time of the tour is 15:30 hours, meeting in the lobby of the hotel where we have brief introductions before getting straight out looking for birds. We will be walking out around some of the city parks to see the Malayan Night Heron and possibly Black-crowned Night Heron, Taiwan Barbet, Taiwan Scomitar-Babbler, Chinese Bulbul, Japanese White-eye and Grey Treepie all before dusk when we will return for dinner.

Accommodation: Comfortable city hotel with breakfast.

Day 2


Coastal headland & Geo Park, then to Yilan paddy fields and lowland forest - There's an opportunity for those who want to walk the Taipei parks again in the early morning before leaving the hotel to head for the coast and the chance to find some migrants. Yeliu Geo Park is popular with Chinese tourists all looking at the rock formations. We will quickly leave them behind as we walk out to the promontory devoid of sightseers. Here we may find Brown Shrike, Plain Prinia, Blue Rock Thrush, Taiwan Scimitar Babbler and Pacific Reef Egret. Overhead there are the occasional Peregrine falcon and Crested Serpent Eagle. Looking out to sea we stand a chance to see whales and dolphins from the headland. There are 20 species of whales and 11 species of dolphin in Taiwan waters, though only a few can be seen from the mainland and of those the only one I usually see is the Risso's dolphin. We then drive down the southeast to Yilan where we can stop a while to view birds in the paddy fields before making wild camp in hammocks in lowland forest, which is a good location for seeing Taiwan serow, Taiwan Blue Magpie and the newly discovered Yilan banana.

Accommodation: 1 night in hammocks in lowland forest.

Days 3-4


Mountain driving with frequent stops then 2 nights at Dasyueshan - We will wake to the dawn chorus, with lowland birds all around us and maybe the odd Taiwan serow walking through the forest. We have quite a long day's driving ahead. Not because it's a long way but because the road over the mountains is slow and winding. After we've made our own breakfasts we have time for a short walk before we set off. The first 74 km leg can be done in 2h 14 min., but we'll take longer due to frequent stopping to see what we can see. The next leg of the journey is a 2h dash down the freeway. Then the last leg is 36.3 km, 1h 15 min. (a good 2h for us), a tortuous ascent back up into the mountains to the Forest Recreation area of Dasyueshan at 2,250 m. We'll stop at km 23 on the way which is a regular site for Swinhoe's Pheasant and Taiwan Hill Partridge. Then stop again at km 47 which is an good spot to see the Mikado pheasant. We're staying up here for 2 nights which will greatly increase our chances of seeing most of the birds you've come to Taiwan to see. The bird list should read something like this: Mikado Pheasant and the gorgeous Swinhoe’s Pheasant, the secretive Taiwan Partridge, Taiwan Bamboo Partridge, the beautiful Collared Bush Robin, Sombre Bush Robin, the tiny Flamecrest, White-eared Sibia, Taiwan Barwing, the beautiful Yellow Tit, Taiwan Rosefinch and Taiwan Bullfinch. In the forested foothills we should see Black-necklaced and Taiwan Scimitar Babblers.

Accommodation: 2 nights in a forest lodge.

Day 5


Day of mountain driving then overnight at high elevation wilderness - The main cross-island road (Highway 8) across the centre of Taiwan is permanently closed due to earthquake damage which means we have a much longer detour to make via Nantou. So we have a choice this morning - stay in Dasyueshan for an hour or two to catch anything we may have missed or visit Sun Moon Lake in the very centre of Taiwan, or both! We will then proceed to drive over the central mountain spine of Taiwan at the Hehuan mountain pass, at 3275 m the highest road in East Asia. We may also have time at the end of the day for a short hike to look for Alpine Accentor and the uncommon and furtive Golden Parrotbill.

The objective is to spend a night in the hammocks at high altitude in the forest during the descent on the other side of the pass before heading down to the east coast tomorrow.

Accommodation: 1 night in hammocks in highland forest.

Day 6


A slow day of mountain descent and coastal driving - Today, after what would have been a chilly night on the mountain we drop down to the east coast through the awesome marble cliff scenery of the Taroko Gorge to the hot and humid coastal lowlands where we will focus on Styan’s Bulbul, Black-necklaced and Taiwan Scimitar Babblers, Taiwan Hwamei and the superb Red Oriole. We may have time to hike to see the rare and prehistoric Cycad trees (Cycas taitungensis).

Accommodation: 1 night in comfortable hotel.

Day 7


Catch the boat for 1 night on Lanyu Island - Our next destination will offer a striking contrast to what we have seen so far, the flora and fauna of the island of Lanyu is that of the Philippines, the climate is tropical and the island's facilities are not so well developed. The island holds a series of special birds including Lanyu Scops Owl, Taiwan Green Pigeon, Philippine (Brown) Cuckoo-dove, Japanese (Black) Paradise-flycatcher, Brown-eared Bulbul and Lowland White-eye. The 46 square kilometre island is 65 km east of the southern tip of Taiwan and about 110 km north of the Batan Islands of the Philippines. To get there requires 3h by boat, this will give us an opportunity to see Humpback whales, dolphins, with Streaked and Wedge-tailed Shearwaters being the most realistic targets and Bonin Petrel, Bulwer's Petrel and Swinhoe's Storm-petrel requiring a large slice of luck.

You now have a choice of what to do. Most other bird tours to Lanyu stay close to the small road that encircles the island, and you can see pretty much all the birds from there. Most of my botany work over the last 10 years has been in the steep forested interior of the island and you now have the opportunity to hike in to the rain-forest with me and sleep in hammocks for 1 night or stay in a guest house. I'll deliberately choose a guesthouse that is within 2 km of the Jung-Ai bridge and easy walking distance, an excellent place for birds especially the Lanyu Scops Owl at night. The group can divide into those who want to hike in and those that don't.

The main transport on the island is motor scooters, if you are able to ride one of these (they're not difficult) then bring along an international driving licence. It saves a lot of walking if some of us can ride and carry the others as pillion passengers. Like I said the hike into the jungle is steep and uncomfortable, I feel that anybody could do it if they are willing to push themselves a little. We have two choices of where I could take you in - the easier route is up to Tian-chi pond at about 300 m, the harder destination is to 552 m (the highest elevation on Lanyu) on Hong-tou mountain, where I can show you the orchids and the critically endangered Pinanga tashiroi palm tree endemic to the island and restricted at elevation.

Please note, bad weather or military manoeuvres in the area could cause cancellation of the Lanyu portion of the tour.

Accommodation: 1 night in hammocks or 1 night in simple guest houses.

Days 8 and 9


Return to mainland and head south - After returning to the mainland, we will check some wetlands for Chinese Egret before heading for the south of Taiwan at Kenting where we can hopefully recover from our tropical island excursions.

Kenting is a popular Taiwan holiday destination. You might enjoy a stroll along the night market in the evening. Where we're staying is at the top of the hill in the botanical garden of the forestry research station. An interesting place to walk around. While in the far south we'll visit the southerly most point for the chance of some migrants, and maybe check out Long Luan Tan Lake, which is part of Kenting National Park, could produce Ruddy-breasted Crake, White-breasted Waterhen, we may find a few lingering Black-faced Spoonbills.

Accommodation: 2 nights in comfortable rooms at the botany research station

Day 10


Back into the southern, drier mountains - The place I want to take you today is seldom ever visited by anyone, the cloud-forest here is the only place in Taiwan that the rare tree-fern Cyathea loheri can be found. To get there (if the road's open) we'll travel up through the drier forests of the south with spectacular views on the way.

Accommodation: 1 night in hammocks.

Day 11


To the Tsengwen river-mouth near Tainan - In the Tainan-Chiku area, we may find a few lingering Black-faced Spoonbills. Shorebirds are another big attraction of this part of Taiwan and the star attractions are likely to include the impressive Great Knot, Long-toed Stint, Broad-billed and Sharp-tailed Sandpipers, Grey-tailed Tattler and even the rare Asian Dowitcher, Far Eastern Curlew or even the charming Little Curlew. More widespread species may well include Black-winged Stilt, Oriental Pratincole, Kentish, Little Ringed, Mongolian, Greater Sand, Pacific Golden and Grey Plovers, Red-necked Stint, Dunlin, Eastern Black-tailed Godwit, Eurasian Whimbrel, Common Redshank, Common Greenshank, Marsh, Wood, Terek and Common Sandpipers, Ruddy Turnstone and possibly Red-necked Phalarope.

Accommodation: 1 night in comfortable hotel.

Day 12


Visit Yushan National Park, the highest elevation of the tour - We will now head to the Tataka Recreation Area in Yushan National Park for additional high mountain specialities. Yushan National Park is known as 'the ridge of the roof of Taiwan'. From here we will be able to see Yushan Peak, also called Jade Mountain, which, at 3952 metres, is the highest mountain in East Asia. Birds to look for include Taiwan Bush-warbler as well as Yellowish-bellied and Brownish-flanked Bush-warblers, Golden Parrotbill, Eurasian Nutcracker, the shy Taiwan Cupwing, Collared Bush-robin, White-browed Bush-robin, the endemic subspecies of Island Thrush, and White-browed Shortwing.

Accommodation: 1 night in comfortable hotel.

Day 13


The last day of the tour, anything we can fit in before we depart - By late morning we will have to leave the high mountains and return to the lowlands to try for Fairy Pitta, and drive back north. Depending on what time people have their flights out. Today we head back up to Taipei, passing Taoyuan airport on the way up. Some people might want to depart at this time. Otherwise I might suggest we detour to Wulai, a stronghold of Taiwan Blue Magpie, Taiwan Whistling Thrush, Plumbeous Redstart, Rufous-capped Babbler and Brown Dipper. On return to Taipei the tour finally ends. Those who are staying in Taipei now depart. If anyone needs a lift to the airport I can drop them off as I pass by.

Additional Information

  • How comfortable are the hammocks?

    I can tell you now they are far more comfortable than you might imagine. I find them more comfortable than my bed and most would agree. The only irritating thing is that tropical evenings are hot but in the middle of the night it turns cooler. You'll need a 3 season sleeping bag or quilt (not provided). If you bring a sleeping bag then you'll use it un-zipped as it is difficult to climb into when in a hammock, a feather down quilt is best. The hammocks are fitted with a mosquito cover, and have an independent fly-sheet. They have a foot-well for optimal comfort, and they even have a shelf to store your clothes and gadgets. You can sleep in almost any position even curled-up or on your front. You can't fall out of them. They're easy and fast to string-up and take-down, and very light weight. I'm sure you'll find them more comfortable and easy to use than you think.

  • What camera kit should I bring?

    I'd like to say you won't require a really long (500-800mm) prime, as these are not a lot of use in the mountains, but they'd be very useful in the wetlands of the south, so I'll leave that open to you. Certainly a long lens that is hand-holdable like a 400mm. An array of focal lengths will always benefit the Taiwan photographer. A wide angle lens (24-70) and a longer zoom (70-200) will be ideal to cover most eventualities. A flash gun for the owls. It's best to not to weigh yourself down, so why not bring an airport style bag for all your kit and a smaller day bag, which you can decant equipment into throughout the day.

  • What about the food?

    For the most part we will eat traditional Chinese food in roadside restaurants (Chinese food is not the same as in the UK), vegetarian restaurants are common and we can choose where we want to eat. We will also carry boil-in-the-bag meals to be eaten when in wilderness areas.

  • Suitable clothing?

    Ensure you bring good quality footwear. I use a combination of walking shoes for driving and everyday use alongside strap-on sandals for other times. Day time temperatures can be as high as 35°C, but being a tropical island the humidity can be as high as 90% which can make it a very uncomfortable heat. Nights in the mountains can be cold and you should bring some warm clothes for when heeded. Bring one of those down-filled puffy jackets. It rains frequently in the mountains and the downpours can be torrential. Light clothing that is quick-drying is most suitable. An umbrella would be useful but don't bring plastic raincoats you will be wetter under the raincoat than if you didn't wear it. You'll need a change of clothes when camping out, typically you'll get wet through precipitation and perspiration when hiking through the rain-forest, it's nice to have fresh clothes to sleep in in the hammocks. All Nature Expeditions' clients are entitled to 15% discount at Cotswold Outdoor & Snow+Rock.

  • Collecting seeds and spore?

    For those of you who want to go plant hunting - If you want to collect seeds and spore then you'll need to let me know in advance so that collecting permits can be arranged. Some species you will not be allowed to collect.

Price: £2,720.00 (GBP) per. person
Single supplement: £250
Current Exchange rate guide:
£2,720 GBP = $3,513 USD or €2,420 EUR

Fri 26 Apr 2019 - Wed 08 May 2019
(13 days) (5 places left)

  • Duration
    • 13 days, 12 nights (5 in hammocks).
  • Location
    • All over Taiwan mainland + Lanyu Island.
  • Accommodation
    • Mostly (7) comfortable accommodations and (5) interspersed nights in hammocks in the wilderness.
  • Included
    • Hotel accommodation + breakfast.
    • All main meals.
    • All vehicle & ferry transportation.
    • Use of an insect-proof hammock tent.
    • All admissions & tolls.
    • Tips or gratuities.
  • Excluded
    • International flights.
    • Pre- and post- expedition travel arrangements.
    • Use of sleeping bag/quilt for hammock sleeping.
    • Items of a personal nature such as laundry charges.
    • Baggage, cancellation and personal insurance (which is mandatory).
  • Max Group Number
    • 6 people.
  • Fitness Level
    • Moderate. Easy walking for the most part. 1 or 2 optional steep hikes.
  •  
  • KAYAK Search flights
  •  
  • Travel Insurance (Mandatory)
  •  
  • The best Taiwan books to buy:
    Birds of East Asia
    Lonely Planet Taiwan Travel Guide
    Taiwan books at the Book Depository